Beta Readers Wanted

I'm currently looking for beta readers for my work. If you're interested in reading one of my novels before it is released for sale (or interested in developing your editing skills), please contact me for more details. (Contact information is on the right sidebar.)

Thursday, April 17, 2014

The Grieved Free at Amazon

Starting today (4/17) through 4/21, The Grieved is free at Amazon. Go pick it up!

Thursday, April 10, 2014

The Indifferent Children of the Earth Free

Starting today (4/10) through 4/14, The Indifferent Children of the Earth will be free at Amazon. Go pick it up!

Tuesday, April 8, 2014

"The Hawthorn Gate" and The Sacraments of Summer for sale

This is a big day for me. Today, the final novella and final novel in The Sophistries of June are available for sale. A few details, and then I'll talk about what this means for me.


The novella, "The Hawthorn Gate" is available at both Smashwords and Amazon. Currently, "The Hawthorn Gate" is free at Smashwords, so if you'd like to pick it up, do it now (it will be free for another week or so).

The novel, The Sacraments of Summer, is available at both Smashwords and Amazon.

As always, it takes a few extra days for these books to show up in B&N, Kobo, etc., but they should be there soon.


In addition to giving away "The Hawthorn Gate" for free, I'm also giving away the first three books in The Sophistries of June. The first book, The Indifferent Children of the Earth, will be available free at Amazon starting tomorrow (edit, my apologies, starting 4/10). The next two books will be made free over the following two weeks, so keep your eyes open.

The Personal Stuff

Finishing this series is a big deal for me in a number of ways. I never expected to love The Sophistries of June as much as I did. In fact, I loved it so much that it was originally supposed to be only three books, but as I was writing the third I realized that a fourth book was needed to finish telling the stories I wanted to tell.

It also marks the end of the original three series that I started writing: The Rim and the Shore; Flesh and Fell; and The Sophistries of June. This moment has been several years in the making. I'm happy about how these books have turned out. I've learned a lot while writing them. I've also had a lot of fun. I hope you've enjoyed reading them.

The Future

Don't worry, I'm still hard at work. I'm revising a book called Blue Island Gods. I hope to have it ready in a few months. I will be trying something new with that book: serializing it on the website while also having it available for sale, if you want to read the whole thing in full. It will be a fun experiment, and I'll keep you posted as it develops.

I'm also writing the first book in a new series. It's tentatively titled Crawling Chaos, but that could very well change. It's kind of H.P. Lovecraft meets the Dresden Files. It's set in 1920's St. Louis and has guns and demons and getaways in Model T's. I'm having a great time writing it.

I think that's all the updates I have for now. I hope you love The Sacraments of Summer. It's the book I'm proudest of.

Tuesday, April 1, 2014


I've just joined Google+ and I'm going to give it a try. If you're on Google+ and have any tips about how to make the most of it, drop me a line and let me know! Thanks!

Monday, March 3, 2014

Blue Island Gods finished

I just wrote the last words to the first draft of Blue Island Gods--a contemporary fantasy set in Chicago. I love this book. It has a very different structure from anything I've written before and it deals with a lot of themes that are new to my work. I also had a blast writing it. The basic summary is: someone is stirring up a war between the old Aztec gods and the Christian god, but, as you might expect, there are always plans hidden within plans.

My plan is to put this book up for sale in a few months, after I've had a chance to edit and revise. I will also be serializing this book on Wattpad and here, on my blog. If you like it and want to read it, you'll be able to get the whole thing here for free, but you'll have to wait to read it week by week. If you really like it, you'll be able to purchase it and read the whole thing at once.

Also, don't forget that all my books are free this week at Smashwords. Stop by and pick them up. Or, if you already have them, let some friends know! Thanks for your support.

Saturday, March 1, 2014

Free books, March 2-8 @ Smashwords

Smashwords is having an exciting promotion this coming week, from March 2-8. All of my books will be available for free there. If you've been wanting to read one of them and don't have the money, stop by Smashwords and pick them up for free!

Saturday, February 15, 2014


As part of an experiment, I've begun serializing two of my novels (The Dew of Flesh and The Indifferent Children of the Earth) on Wattpad. If you haven't read them, you can find the first parts over there, already available.

Of course, you can also download both books for free under the 'Books' tab, but feel free to stop by Wattpad, or here, and leave a comment if you like.